” … e’ o samba-rock meu irmão” – “it is the samba-rock my brother” (‘Bubble gum with banana’) – Gilbert Gil and Marjorie Estiano.

or how to put the American and the Brazilian grooves together … 🙂

Só ponho bebop no meu samba
Quando o tio Sam pegar no tamborim
Quando ele pegar no pandeiro e no zabumba
Quando ele entender que o samba não é rumba
Aí eu vou misturar Miami com Copacabana
Chicletes eu misturo com banana
E o meu samba vai ficar assim

Quero ver a grande confusão

É o samba-rock, meu irmão

Mas em compensação
Quero ver o boogie-woogie de pandeiro e violão
Quero ver o tio Sam de frigideira
Numa batucada brasileira
Quero ver o tio Sam de frigideira
Numa batucada brasileira

Quero ver a grande confusão

É o samba-rock, meu irmão

9 thoughts on “” … e’ o samba-rock meu irmão” – “it is the samba-rock my brother” (‘Bubble gum with banana’) – Gilbert Gil and Marjorie Estiano.

    1. Fabio Post author

      Hi, my friend,

      Here is a free translation of the lyrics:

      I only put bebop to my samba
      When Uncle Sam plays the tamborim
      When he plays the tambourine and drum
      When he realizes that samba is not rumba
      Then I will mix Miami with Copacabana
      Bubble gum with banana
      And my samba will be like this

      I want to see the big mess

      It’s the samba-rock, my brother

      To level off
      I want to see the boogie-woogie playing tambourine and guitar
      I want to see Uncle Sam playing pan
      In a Brazilian groove
      I want to see Uncle Sam playing pan
      In a Brazilian groove

      Thank you!

      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

